Assigning policies
Assigning policies to virtual machines
You can manage security settings on virtual machines using policies.
From the Network page you can view, change and assign policies for each virtual machine or group of virtual machines.
Note
Security settings are available for managed virtual machines only. To view and manage security settings easier, you can filter the network inventory only by managed virtual machines.
To view the security settings assigned to a particular virtual machine:
Log in to GravityZone Control Center.
Go to the Network page from the left side menu.
Choose Virtual Machines from the views selector.
Select the container that you want from the left-side pane. All virtual machines from the selected container are displayed in the right-side pane table.
Click the name of the virtual machine you are interested in. An information window will appear.
Under General tab, in the Policy section, click the name of the current policy to view its settings.
You can change security settings as needed, provided the policy owner has allowed other users to make changes to that policy.
Note
Any change you make will affect all the virtual machines assigned with the same policy.
For more information about virtual machine policy settings, refer to this section.
To assign a policy to a virtual machine or a group of virtual machines:
Log in to GravityZone Control Center.
Go to the Network page from the left side menu.
Choose Virtual Machines from the views selector.
Select the container that you want from the left-side pane. All virtual machines from the selected container are displayed in the right-side pane table.
Select the check box of the entity that you want. You can select one or several objects of the same type only from the same level.
Click the
Assign Policy button at the upper side of the table.Make the necessary settings in the Policy assignment window.
Warning
For policies with Hypervisor Memory Introspection enabled, target machines may require a reboot right after policy assignment. Machines in this state are marked in the Network page with the
Pending restart icon.