ON PREMISES SOLUTIONS

Uninstall GravityZone virtual appliance roles

You can uninstall the GravityZone virtual appliance roles through the menu-based interface. Even if you remove one of them, your network is still protected. Nevertheless, you need at least one instance of each role for GravityZone to run properly.

In a scenario with a single appliance with all GravityZone roles, when removing one role, the endpoints will continue to be protected, although some of the appliance features will not be available, depending on each role.

In a scenario with multiple GravityZone appliances, you can safely uninstall a role as long as another instance of the same role is available. By design, multiple instances of Communication Server and Web Console roles can be installed on different appliances and connected to the other roles via a role balancer. Hence, if you uninstall one instance of a specific role, its function is taken over by other ones.

When needed, you can uninstall Communication Server from one appliance while assigning its function to another instance of this role. For a smooth migration, follow these steps:

  1. In Control Center, go to the Policies page.

  2. Select an existing policy or click add.png Add to create a new one.

  3. Under General section, go to Communication.

  4. In the Endpoint Communication Assignment table, click the Name field. The list of detected communication servers is displayed.

  5. Select the communication server you want for endpoints to relate.

  6. Click the add.png Add button at the right side of the table. If you have in the list more than one communication server, you can configure their priority using the up and down arrows at the right side of each entity.

  7. Click Save to create the policy. The endpoints will communicate with Control Center via the specified communication server.

  8. In GravityZone command-line interface, uninstall the old Communication Server role.

    Warning

    If you uninstall the old Communication Server without first setting up the policy, communication will be permanently lost and you will need to reinstall the security agents.

To uninstall GravityZone virtual appliance roles:

  1. Log in to the console interface from your virtualization management tool (for example, vSphere Client). Use the arrow keys and the Tab key to navigate through menus and options. Press Enter to select a specific option.

  2. Select Advanced Settings.

  3. Select Install/Uninstall Roles.

  4. Go to Add or remove roles.

  5. Using the Space bar, deselect any role you want to uninstall, then press Enter. A confirmation window appears, informing you the role will be removed.

  6. Press Enter to continue and wait for the uninstallation to complete.

If you want to reinstall a role, refer to Install/Uninstall Roles.