My Bitdefender
  • 0 Shopping Cart

How to switch the operation mode for Bitdefender Business Client

Bitdefender Client Security is an easy to use business security and management solution, which delivers superior proactive protection from viruses, spyware, rootkits, spam, phishing and other malware. It offers the following components: Bitdefender Management Server (with/without add-on), Bitdefender Local Update Server, Bitdefender Business Client and Bitdefender Management Agent;

The way you interact with and use the product much depends on its operation mode.


Bitdefender Business Client can operate in one of the following modes:

  • Restricted User
  • Power User

The default operation mode is restricted user and only the network security administrator can change it.

Restricted User Mode
In the restricted user mode the configuration and administration of Bitdefender Business Client are entirely up to the network security administrator. You can only check the Bitdefender status and configuration, and also perform basic on-demand tasks, such as updating Bitdefender, scanning the computer and backing data up.

Power User Mode
In the power user mode you have full control over Bitdefender Business Client. Different from the restricted user mode, the power user mode allows you to fully configure and customize the protection features offered by Bitdefender. An important benefit available to power users only is that they are being able to use the entire set of backup options.

Changing Operation Mode
As mentioned before, only the network administrator can change the operation mode of Bitdefender Business Client. Normally, the change is immediate, without any warning to the user. If the product interface is open when the change is made, you will be informed that your user rights have changed and that you need to restart the product interface. Click Yes to restart the interface and to change the user rights immediately.
The network administrator may configure Bitdefender Business Client to allow authorized users to temporarily change its operation mode (the user rights). In this case, you should be provided with the password required to perform this operation.

To change the operation mode, follow these steps:
         1.  Right-click the Bitdefender icon in the system tray and select Switch to power user.

How to switch the operation mode of Bitdefender Business Client
 

         Note: If you do not find this option on the menu, then Bitdefender is not configured to allow changing the operation mode locally.


         2.  You will be prompted to provide the password.

How to switch the operation mode of Bitdefender Business Client
 

Type the password given by your network administrator in the corresponding field.
       

         3.  Click OK.

The change is temporary. If you log off, restart or close your computer, the next time you log on to Windows, Bitdefender will automatically operate in the restricted user mode.


To reverse user rights manually, right-click the Bitdefender icon in the system tray and select Switch to restricted user.

How to switch the operation mode of Bitdefender Business Client