Cleaning infected files from the Windows XP System Restore

The Restore folder is protected by default and prevents programs from using or manipulating the files that are within this folder. These files are inactive while in the data store and are not used by any utility other than System Restore.

The System Restore feature is not designed to detect or scan for virus infections or virus activity. Most computer virus infections seek or attack files with extensions such as .exe or .com. These are file types that the System Restore feature is designed to monitor.

To completely and immediately remove the infected file or files in the data store, disable and re-enable the System Restore feature.

When System Restore is turned off, all the restore points are removed. When System Restore is turned on again, new restore points are created as the schedule and events require.
    1. Click Start, and then click Control Panel.
    2. Click Performance and Maintenance, and then double-click System.
    3. Click the System Restore tab, and then click to select the Turn off System Restore for all drives check box.
    4. Click OK, and then click Yes to initiate the restore point deletion.

To turn on System Restore again after the restore point deletion has completed, repeat these steps, but click to clear the Turn off System Restore for all drives check box.


Calificar este artículo:

Enviar